Format Hardcover
Publication Date 05/08/18
ISBN 9781681776675
Trim Size / Pages 8.25 x 5.5 in / 352

Request a review copy or press kit

Edgar Allan Poe and the Jewel of Peru

A Poe and Dupin Mystery

Karen Lee Street

Edgar Allan Poe and C. Auguste Dupin strive unravel a mystery involving old enemies, lost soul-mates, ornithomancy, and the legendary jewel of Peru.

Philadelphia, 1844.   As violent tensions escalate between nativists and recent Irish immigrants, Edgar Allan Poe’s fears for the safety of his wife, Virginia, and mother-in-law, Muddy, are compounded when he receives a parcel of mummified bird parts. Has his nemesis returned to settle an old score? Just as odd is the arrival of Helena Loddiges, a young heiress who demands Poe’s help to discover why her lover died at the city’s docks on his return from an expedition to Peru.  Poe is skeptical of her claims of having received messages from birds—and visitations from her lover’s ghost—but when Miss Loddiges is kidnapped, he and his friend C. Auguste Dupin must unravel a mystery involving old enemies, lost soul-mates, ornithomancy, and the legendary jewel of Peru.

Karen Lee Street was born in America but has lived in London for most of her adult life. She recently moved to Australia. Edgar Allan Poe and the London Monster is her first novel.

Buy it now in print: Amazon Barnes & Noble IndieBound

Buy it now in ebook: Amazon Barnes & Noble Apple Kobo

Endorsements & Reviews

“Street excels at seamlessly joining history and fiction, displaying a literary style not unlike Poe’s, complete with touches of the macabre and melodramatic. Her depiction of Poe’s relationship with Sissy, his young wife, and Muddy, his mother-in-law, is skillfully drawn and very touching. Fans of Poe and Dupin will look forward to more adventures of the detecting duo.” Library Journal
“Deliciously morbid.  The prose has a lush, sumptuous rhythm to it.  This is a dark, highly satisfying mystery combining beautiful writing with suspense and unease.” Ripperologist
“Poe's devoted readers will rejoice in this debut literary novel, a skillful melding of historical detail and fiction that is also rife with Poe-like style, imagery, and plot element.s  Mavens of the macabre will relish this and hunger for a sequel.” Library Journal (starred review)
“A dose of drama, a dash of darkness, and a little bit of humor liven up the journey. ” Kirkus
“Street's impressive first novel cleverly pairs Poe with his fictional creation, the Chevalier C. Auguste Dupin. Street maintains atmospheric suspense throughout. ” Publishers Weekly (Praise for EDGAR ALLAN POE AND THE LONDON MONSTER)