Format Hardcover
Publication Date 03/08/09
ISBN 9781605980270
Trim Size / Pages 8.6 x 5.9 in / 480

Request a review copy or press kit

White Riot

A Joe Donovan Thriller

Martyn Waites

The third novel in the acclaimed Joe Donovan series by "Britain's answer to Michael Connelly" (Ken Bruen).

When the savagely beaten body of a Muslim student is discovered in a rundown area of Newcastle, blame falls on the far right National Unity Party—but for once they appear to be innocent. In fact, with elections looming, they are poised to make significant gains. Not the best time for Trevor Whitman, ex-70s radical, to return to his native northeast. Haunted by his violent past, he's receiving death threats over the murder of a policeman years ago.Joe Donovan, the hero of Martyn Waites' acclaimed trilogy of thrillers, is called in to investigate. After the death of a supposed suicide bomber, the investigation takes a more dangerous turn as Donovan and his team find themselves the targets of a ruthless killer unlike any they have faced before. A killer who will do anything to ensure an explosive thirty-year-old secret remains buried. Anything—even orchestrating a brutal race war that will tear the city apart, with Donovan caught in the middle.

Martyn Waites is one of crime fiction's leading writers of neo-noir. He is the author of The Mercy Seat, Bone Machine, White Riot, and Speak No Evil. Waites lives in London.

Buy it now in print: Amazon Barnes & Noble IndieBound

Buy it now in ebook:

Endorsements & Reviews

“Starred Review. An intelligent, fast-paced plot about radical groups orchestrating a race riot is only one highlight of Waites's superb third Joe Donovan thriller (after Bone Machine) ... Waites masterfully pulls together a cohesive story about fanatical politics filled with surprises and suspense. Fans of Mark Billingham, John Connolly and Ken Bruen will find much to like.” Publishers Weekly
“London's dark heart has seldom been exposed with such surgical precision. Brutal, mesmerizing stuff.”
“A sometimes brutal, sometimes poetic journey through the dark heart of modern London, and confirms Waites as one of the brightest stars in crime writing.”