Format Hardcover
Publication Date 03/06/18
ISBN 9781681776477
Trim Size / Pages 9 x 6 in / 384

Request a review copy or press kit

They All Fall Down

A Novel

Tammy Cohen

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest meets Orange is the New Black in this new psychological thriller, where a new patient suspects that women at her high-risk psychiatric clinic are being stalked by a serial killer . . .

Hannah had a perfect life in London—a loving husband, a great job—until she did something shocking. Something that she doesn’t quite understand herself; and now she has landed herself in a high-risk psychiatric unit.

Since Hannah has been admitted, two women have died, including Charlie, one of her closest friends in the institution. It’s a high-risk unit, the authorities say. Deaths happen. But Hannah knows Charlie wouldn’t have killed herself. She is convinced there’s a serial killer picking off the patients one by one, passing their deaths off as suicides. But why? And who will believe her?

Corinne, Hannah’s mother, is worried sick about her eldest daughter. She hates that she’s ended up in the unit, though she knows it’s the best place for her to get the treatment she needs. At first, Corinne assumes Hannah’s outlandish claims about a killer in the unit are just another manifestation of her psychological condition, but as she starts to uncover strange inconsistencies surrounding the unit's charismatic director, Dr. Roberts, she begins to wonder if her daughter might have stumbled upon the truth.

But who can Corinne trust, when she doesn’t even trust her own daughter?

Tammy Cohen (who also writes as Tamar Cohen) is a freelance journalist writing for national magazines and newspapers. After a late start, she has now written seven novels - The Mistress's Revenge, The War of the Wives, Someone Else's Wedding, The Broken, Dying For Christmas, First One Missing and When She Was Bad - all published by Doubleday/Black Swan. She is a member of the Killer Women crime writing collective and lives in North London with her partner and three (nearly) grown children, plus one very badly behaved dog.

Buy it now in print: Amazon Barnes & Noble IndieBound

Buy it now in ebook: Amazon Barnes & Noble Apple Kobo

Endorsements & Reviews

“A more realistic look than [The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl] into a disturbed mind’s second-guessing and fear. Give this fast, absorbing read not only to fans of the ubiquitous Girl titles but also to A. J. Finn’s superb The Woman in the Window.” Booklist
“Cohen convincingly portrays Hannah’s shaky belief in her own perceptions and Corinne’s determination to risk all to help her child.” Publishers Weekly
“This is a downright chilling psychological suspense novel.” The Globe and Mail [praise for 'Dying for Christmas']
“An exciting, chillingly complex psychological thriller. A deliciously dark twist midway through turns the plot around while keeping the story believable.” Publishers Weekly [praise for 'Dying for Christmas']
“Satisfying twists and turns. Cohen’s holiday-tinged psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. Library Journal [praise for 'Dying for Christmas']
“Cohen’s writing is so strong that even when one learns the truth . . . its aftereffects linger right up to the final page. Read it and enjoy.” Bookreporter [praise for 'Dying for Christmas']