Format Hardcover
Publication Date 06/01/13
ISBN 9781605984407
Trim Size / Pages 9.3 x 6.3 in / 352

Request a review copy or press kit

The Child Thief

A Novel

Dan Smith

In the tradition of City of Thieves and Child 44, a troubled First World War veteran races across the frozen steppe of 1930s Ukraine to save a child from a shadowy killer with unthinkable plans.

Luka is a war veteran who now wants only to have a quiet life with his family. His village has, so far,remained hidden from the advancing Soviet brutality. But everything changes the day the stranger arrives,pulling a sled bearing a terrible cargo.When the villagers’ fear turns deadly, they think they have saved themselves. But their anger has cursed them: in the chaos, a little girl has vanished. Luka is the only man with the skills to find who could have stolen a child in these frozen lands—and besides, the missing girl is best friend to Luka’s daughter, and he swears he will find her.Together with his sons, Luka sets out in pursuit across lands ravaged by war and gripped by treachery.Soon they realize that the man they are tracking is no ordinary criminal, but a skillful hunter with the child as the bait in his twisted game. It will take all of Luka’s strength to battle the harshest of conditions, and all of his wit to stay a step ahead of Soviet authorities. And though his toughest enemy is the man he tracks,his strongest bond is a promise to his family back home.

Among other novels, Dan Smith is the author of The Child Thief, which is also available from Pegasus Crime. He lives in Newcastle with his family. Find out more about Dan, his novels, and the places that inspire them at www.dansmithbooks.com

Buy it now in print: Amazon Barnes & Noble IndieBound

Buy it now in ebook: Amazon Barnes & Noble

Endorsements & Reviews

“Haunting stuff from a new writer to watch.” The Mail on Sunday
“Dangerous and compelling – a powerful thriller with a dark heart.” Raymond Khoury
“Smith succeeds in creating a narrative that is both an engrossing thriller and the story of a man struggling in the grip of historical events that he only partially understands.” The Sunday TImes (London)