Format Hardcover
Publication Date 09/15/14
ISBN 9781605986579
Trim Size / Pages 9.3 x 6.3 in / 368

Request a review copy or press kit

Biblical

A Novel

Christopher Galt

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Margaret Atwood, an apocalyptic thriller that pits cutting-edge science against God and asks—who will win?

A strange phenomenon is sweeping the globe. People are having visions, seeing angels, experiencing events that defy reality. Bizarre accounts pour in from distant places: a French teenager claims to have witnessed Joan of Arc being burned at the stake; a man in New York dies of malnutrition in a luxurious Central Park apartment; a fundamentalist Christian sect kidnaps and murders a geneticist.

Then there is the graffiti WE ARE BECOMING that has popped up in every major city around the world, in every language. And everywhere people are starting to talk about John Astor, the mysterious author of the book that seems to be at the center of it all.

After a rash of suicides around the world by individuals experiencing the time traveling hallucinations, psychiatrist John Macbeth and a team of FBI agents and scientists assemble to find out what’s going on before it’s too late. Is this a spiritual phenomenon or something more sinister?

Christopher Galt is the pseudonym for Craig Russell, whose mystery novels (translated into 23 languages) published in the UK have won many prestigious awards including the CWA Dagger in the Library. In 2007 he was nominated for the CWA Duncan Lawrie Golden Dagger as well as the SNCF Prix Polar in France. Earlier this year, he was nominated for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger. For more information please visit his website:http://www.craigrussell.com/.

Buy it now in print: Amazon Barnes & Noble IndieBound

Buy it now in ebook: Amazon Barnes & Noble Apple Kobo

Endorsements & Reviews

“The first tale I found myself comparing to "Biblical" was Jean-Paul Sartre's "Les Jeux Sont Faits"... because of how both authors pose the question of existence. Of course, "Biblical" also hits classic sci-fi notes.” New York Daily News
“The intellectual premise and cautionary philosophy in Galt's complexly plotted novel are worthy subjects.” Kirkus Reviews
“Readers with an insatiable desire for thrillers with apocalyptic themes may find this one worth their time.” Booklist
“The pseudonymous Galt, the author of two crimes series under his real name of Craig Russell, successfully juggles a wide cast of fully developed characters in this inventive near-future thriller. Few readers will anticipate the jaw-dropping conclusion, and fans of thoughtful scientific thrillers will hope Galt will continue in the genre.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“As mind-bending as The Matrix, this smartly written, compelling, scientific novel has the power to unsettle our beliefs about the nature of existence.” Library Journal (Starred Review)
“Storytelling at its very best!” Michael Connelly
“Picture a collaboration between the science-based work of Michael Crichton and the reality-questioning novels of Philip K. Dick, and you get a pretty good overview of what the book is about.” Bookreporter.com
“If you're looking for a distinctive and exciting new voice in crime fiction, then look no further than Craig Russell. This is gritty, authentic and disturbing stuff.” Mo Hayder
“Craig Russell is a great writer at the very top of his game.” Peter James
“A gruesomely gripping tale. It had me hooked.” Piers Morgan
“The intellectual premise and cautionary philosophy in Galt's complexly plotted novel are worthy subjects. Be prepared for some heavy reading on the hubristic hypothesis that "science will make us God." A complex thriller with a "what'd I miss?" conclusion.” Kirkus Reviews