Format Hardcover
Publication Date 12/03/19
ISBN 9781643132242
Trim Size / Pages 8.6 x 5.8 in / 592

Request a review copy or press kit

Treachery

A Novel

S. J. Parris

The new historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher, and spy, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose.

August, 1585. A relentless enemy. A treacherous conspiracy. Elizabethan England is on the brink of war.  Sir Francis Drake is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish when a murder aboard his ship changes everything. Giordano Bruno agrees to hunt the killer down, only to find that more than one deadly plot is brewing in Plymouth’s murky underworld. And as he tracks a murderer through its dangerous streets, he uncovers a conspiracy that threatens the future of England itself.

Buy it now in print: Amazon IndieBound

Buy it now in ebook: Amazon Apple Kobo

Endorsements & Reviews

“Excellent. This is historical mystery fiction at its finest.” Publishers Weekly (starred)
“A masterful work that deserves a place on all public-library historical-fiction shelves, and that should be recommended to Phillipa Gregory fans.” Booklist (starred)
“Hugely enjoyable. It’s played straight, but never humourlessly so, and there’s just enough 'proper' history amid the intrigue to keep purists on side.” The Guardian
“S. J. Parris is one of my favorite authors, and she is unquestionably our greatest living writer of historical thrillers. Few novelists inhabit a setting—any setting—with such confidence and command; fewer still devise plots of such cunning and craft. If Hilary Mantel, John Le Carré, and Michael Connelly were to join forces, they might gift us with a novel as atmospheric, intelligent, and addictive as Treachery—or indeed any of Parris’s books featuring monk-turned-spy Giordano Bruno.” A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Vivid characterizations, careful description, and lively dialogue.” Historical Novels Review
“An evil bookseller and a terrifying brothel lie ahead; what’s not to like? Gripping and fun.” The Observer (London)
“With its twisting plot and vivid scene-setting, Treachery confirms Parris’s growing reputation as a writer of historical thrillers.” The Sunday Times (London)
“Parris’s Giordano Bruno series has been a joy. Her Elizabethan England is loud, pungent, and blessedly free of some of the genre’s more egregious clichés. She wears her research lightly: at home with the detail of the period, she is quite happy to engage in a little creative anachronism to bring the story home.” The Daily Telegraph (UK)
“There are echoes of C. J. Sansom’s here. Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming.” The Times (London)