Format Hardcover
Publication Date 09/01/11
ISBN 9781605982526
Trim Size / Pages 9.5 x 6.3 in / 416

Request a review copy or press kit

The Schoolmaster's Daughter

A Novel of the American Revolution

John Smolens

From the author of The Anarchist and Cold—a gripping historical novel set during the American Revolution.

With the outbreak of the American revolution, Abigail Lovell's family is torn apart—while her schoolmaster father is an outspoken loyalist and prominent figurehead in the community, she and her two brothers engage in acts of espionage to undermine the British forces in Boston. Her sickly older brother, James, operates the patriots’ spy ring while Abigail acts as a courier, eluding increasingly aggressive British patrols. Meanwhile, her younger brother, Benjamin, slips out of Boston to fight alongside Abigail’s love, Ezra, in the battles at Lexington and Concord. With the help of her friend, Rachel revere, Abigail smuggles money and supplies out to Benjamin, Ezra, and other revolutionaries.

But when a British sergeant is found murdered, Abigail stands accused, and she now must fight to save herself and those she loves. in the tradition of Sally Gunning’s Bound and Diana Gabaldon’s An Echo in the Bone, The Schoolmaster’s Daughter is the story of a family torn asunder—and of a determined young woman who must make courageous decisions if she is to aid in liberating her country.

John Smolens is author of Cold, The Invisible World, Fire Point, and The Anarchist. He received his MFA from the University of Iowa in 1984 and is currently head of the MFA program at Northern Michigan University.  His novel The Schoolmaster's Daughter will be published by Pegasus Books in paperback in September, 2012.  You can visit his site at www.johnsmolens.com.

Buy it now in print: Amazon Barnes & Noble IndieBound

Buy it now in ebook: Amazon Barnes & Noble Apple Kobo

Endorsements & Reviews